The First 35 Days

Back again, readers! I’ve been enjoying the fact that my ‘crazy diet’ is working, and also that I’ve completed the first 35 days, as listed in Judy Mazel’s book “The New Beverly Hills Diet”. She had said you should lose between 10 and 15 pounds in that first month (okay, month+), and at the end of my first 35 days, I’d lost 11 pounds, which thrilled me. I didn’t always eat everything she asked you to eat, but I did manage to eat fruit at the start of every day, and I monitored what I ate the rest of the day, so aside from an occasional sprinkling of parmesan cheese on my Caesar salad, which I tended to forget to ask the waiters to remove (and which is a protein, not a carb, like the rest of the salad), I did usually combine my foods properly.

I’ve also eaten stuff she didn’t specifically mention, but which go along with the idea of carb and fat vs. protein and fat. I’ve had chocolate, spaghetti (several times) and cheese fondue one memorable evening (and didn’t gain weight–delightful!) I’m trying to get used to the idea of ‘making the pleasure last as long as possible’ instead of just stuffing myself, and going as light on salt as possible, which means giving up a lot of salty processed foods, but the result is worth it. I’m learning to eat better food and enjoy it as much, or more, as I did the bad stuff.

What’s even better, everyone who sees me is telling me I look thinner, which I’m delighted about, and I’m feeling thinner, too. Okay, it’s not about looks, I get that, but I can’t think of anyone who hates it when someone says, “You look terrific!” So when someone says that to me, I feel good about it.

I’m feeling a lot more energy, too, and my morning walks are much more enjoyable. I can usually get in a little over 4000 steps in a half hour outside, and add more while I’m just moving around during the day. And I notice that I’m more excited about doing that walk, and that I’m now walking up to 6 days/week, and on the days I don’t walk (because of weather or schedule), I notice it, and miss it.

Altogether, I’m very satisfied with this first foray into food combining, and yes, I’m planning to stick with it. Mazel says if you haven’t lost all the weight you want to lose, you can go back to any single week of the New Beverly Hills Diet (she specifically recommends NOT going back to the first week) and do it again, for more weight loss, which I plan to do. Just not yet, please; I’m enjoying the everyday combining and learning more about it as I do it. This is truly an experiential journey.

I had wanted to adopt a way of eating that was easy, required little preparation, and that I could do FOREVER, while losing weight, feeling good and being healthy. This seems to be it. (Side note: Since I began the diet on September 5th, I haven’t had a single diet soda, and considering my intake before, that’s pretty amazing. I’ve stuck completely to water since the start, and have not missed my Diet Cokes. I do have champagne in the fridge, whenever I feel like indulging–because champagne, unlike grain alcohols, goes with everything, including fruit–so I can drink it any time without problems. But I haven’t quite gotten there yet. Maybe next time around.

My sons were home this past weekend, and both of them noticed I had lost weight. I told them what I was doing, and while Son #2 ridiculed me (“Why can’t you have fruit for dessert? Fruit is the healthiest thing there is!”), Son #1 seemed just puzzled. They’re coming home again for Thanksgiving; by that time I’ll have lost more weight, so they may be more receptive. We’ll see.

Meanwhile, I have more to accomplish this fall, and I’ll be working on it in the remaining 2 1/2 months of the year. (Hard to believe 2017 is this close to being over; so MUCH has happened!) But I still have time to finish a draft of a novel I’ve been working on for years, and that’s something I want to get done. It’s about time I get done with it and get on with publishing it.

So far this year I’ve managed to read through the entire Bible in 90 days (a project I started in January and ended in early May), and I’m really proud of having done it, after wanting to do it for 5 years, without success. I’ve joined a Bible study, seen the Cubs into the National Championship Series (where alas, they’re down by 3 games and may be eliminated tonight), taken my younger son and his girlfriend to Disney World for a GREAT vacation in August, and am looking at what I can do in the rest of the year. We still have about ten weeks; I can get a lot done. I always feel better when I’m busy.

Looking forward to reporting more good results here in the next few weeks–ciao for now!

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on October 18, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

